Missouri State’s National Pan-Hellenic Council


Courtesy of MSU NPHC

Myesha Smith, The Black Bear – Nine international Greek letter sororities and fraternities make up the National Pan-Hellenic Council Inc. also known as NPHC here on campus and universities and colleges around the world.

NPHC was established as a permanent organization on the campus of Howard University on May 10, 1930.

Charter member organizations were Omega Psi Phi , Kappa Alpha Psi, Alpha Kappa Alpha, Delta Sigma Theta, and Zeta Phi Beta. In 1931 Alpha Phi Alpha and Phi Beta Sigma joined. Sigma Gamma Rho joined in 1937 and Iota Phi Theta completed the list in 1997.

The mission of NPHC is “unanimity of thought and action as far as possible in the conduct of Greek letter collegiate fraternities and sororities, and to consider problems of mutual interest to its member of organizations”.

“NPHC bridges the gap between all divine nine organizations to create unity within the African American community,” says Danielle McCowan, Nu Epsilon Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Inc.

Here on MSU’s campus, NPHC council is represented by the following fraternities and sororities with their current members:

  • Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc.


    Courtesy of the Sigma Theta Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc.

Sigma Theta Chapter Members:

Anthony Hooks – Marketing Management

Shakhalil Benbow – Animation

Christian Chigbogu – Administrative Management

Christopher Collins – Journalism

Gregory Crew – Accounting

Derell DeRamus – Health Services

Delmario Goodrich – Technology and Construction Management

Secoy Hodges – Communications

Darnay Session – Athletic Training

Carl Watkins – Health Services

  • Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Inc.

Courtesy of the Mu Epsilon Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Inc.

Mu Epsilon Chapter Members:

Sam Mahone – Computer Information System

Jakobi Connor – General Business

Jourdan Gold – Political Science

Rob Colyer – Creative Writing




Courtesy of Richard Darden, Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Inc.


  • Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Inc. 

Omicron Kappa Chapter Members:

Richard Darden – Recreation Sport and Park Administration


  • Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc.

Courtesy of Churena White, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc.

Rho Beta Chapter Members:

Churena White – Biology International and Cultural Studies






Courtesy of the Rho Chi Chapter of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity Inc.


  • Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity Inc.

Rho Chi Chapter Members:

Tyler Jones – Sports Administration

Joshua Willis – Psychology

Marquise Middleton – Bachelor of Fine Arts, Emphasis in Acting

James Barnes – Facilities Management

Duane Johnson Jr. – Exercise and Movement Science

Julian McGee – Business Administration and Management

Kiano Keaton – Hospitality Restaurant Management

Darius Brown – Psychology with a minor in Recording Arts

Walter Alfred Mingole – Biology with a minor in Chemistry

  • Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Inc.

Theta Pi Chapter Members:


Courtesy of the Theta Pi Chapter of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Inc.

Shanay Jackson – Childhood Development

Destiny Minor – Marketing Management

DaLila Blaney – Interior Design and Construction Management

Khadijah Forrest – Broadcast Journalism

DeAntra “Shae” Darough – Health Services



  • Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Inc.


    Courtesy of the Nu Epsilon Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Inc

Nu Epsilon Chapter Members:

Danielle McCowan – Theater Major

Amariyah King – Elementary Education

Janeisha Gooden – Early Childhood Education

Tynisha Brown – Child and Family Development Sr.

Brittany Buchannon – Psychology Major

Jakel Ringo – Child and Family Development

Taylor Hayes – Exercise and Movement Science


The current president of NPHC is Danielle McCowan and vice president is Rob Colyer. The rest of the executive board for the school year of 2015 to 2016 is comprised of secretary, Marquis Middleton; treasurer Carl Watkins; publicity chair, DaLila Blaney; and sergeant at arms, Duane Johnson.

April 8 the council will be hosting a “Privilege Log” event to bring forth questions about what privileges individuals have. It will be held in the PSU Ballroom West at 7:30 p.m.


Courtesy of MSU NPHC

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Fraternity Strives to Extend the College Experience for Students – Inform. Connect. Develop.
  2. Bear Grads: Spring Class of 2016 – Inform. Connect. Develop.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: